Thursday, April 13, 2017

Phoenix Reborn

Originally the series was titled The Dogs of War, in reference to the Shakespeare quote "Cry 'Havok' and let slip the dogs of war" in which the dogs of war are the hellacious aftermath - rather than the act of war itself.   It seemed to fit, given that the first three books are about warriors who fought for their country and returned with PTSD.  Even the second three that are in my head, all dealing with police officers, fit.  But I didn't want to limit myself to just cops and military.  Additionally, I think The Dogs of War series title might have turned some readers off.

What ties all of the stories together is a PTSD support group for those in the D/s community who are military, police, firefighters, EMTs, etc.  As they learn to deal with PTSD and the changes in their lives, they are all different than what their loved ones remember - and coming out the other side, they have all faced some kind of a trial by fire.

So Phoenix Reborn made sense ...

No comments:

Post a Comment